Copland | Aaron

Appalachian Spring (Ballet for Martha)

Hawkes Pocket Scores Edition



× Ask a Question re: Appalachian Spring (Ballet for Martha)

SKU: 15673 Categories: ,


Appalachian Spring, signed twice by composer Aaron Copland, the Hawkes Pocket Scores edition of Appalachian Spring, also known as the Ballet for Martha.

Quarto, 82pp, [2]. Original paper wrappers, title in green on front cover. Solid text block, expert repairs to covers at the spine fold. Small marks to covers, a near fine example. Signed on the title page “Aaron Copland / 1981.” Signed again on the first page of music: “For Flip / A heluva dissonant character! / from Aaron / April 3, 1978.”

The recipient of this copy, Phillip Ramey, was a fellow composer and writer who was also one of Copland’s closest friends.

Appalachian Spring was composed from 1943-1944 for a ballet of the same name choreographed by Martha Graham. The original music, with its quintessentially American sound, won Aaron Copland the Pulitzer Prize for Music in 1945.

Additional information

Location Published

New York


Boosey & Hawkes


Hawkes Pocket Scores Edition

Date Published





Near Fine


Copland | Aaron

Author Display

Aaron Copland