[Charles Boni]

Boni Paper Books Set

First Edition Thus



× Ask a Question re: Boni Paper Books Set

SKU: 15427 Categories: ,


Set of four paperback books published by Charles Boni Paper Books in 1930. Titles include The Return of the Hero by Darrell Figgis, The Master of the Day of Judgment by Leo Perutz, By the Waters of Manhattan by Charles Reznikoff, and Prize Poems 1913-1929.

Octavo, [four volumes]. Publisher’s original paperback covers, detailed illustrations on covers and endpapers. Solid text blocks, lightly soiled covers, a few stains along edges, internally fine. Housed in the publisher’s black and beige cloth slipcase, “Early Paperbacks” in black on blue paper label affixed to spine.

The Boni family, including Charles and his brother, Albert, were pioneers in the field of publishing. The brothers began with the Little Leather Library, a set of 30 miniature classics bound in lamb. This was followed by a collaboration with Horace Liveright to launch the Modern Library in 1917. After facing professional differences with Liveright, the Boni brothers opened their own publishing house which allowed each man to pursue his own projects. Charles Boni created Boni Paper Books, a monthly paperback subscription service that yielded 16 total pieces before he quit in 1931 due to limited interest during the Great Depression era.

Additional information

Location Published

New York


Charles Boni Paper Books


First Edition Thus

Date Published



Paperback original


Near Fine


[Charles Boni]


[Charles Boni]